Above Us The Waves Release New Afterlife Video

Greek melodic death metal/hardcore band, ABOVE US THE WAVES, have released a new music video for ‘Afterlife‘, the track is taken from their sophomore album titled ‘ROUGH ON HIGH SEAS‘, contains 8 tracks and to be out on June 8th, 2018 via GROWL RECORDS a divison of ROAR! Rock Of Angels Records.

[arve url=”https://youtu.be/FbUMItpZH24″ /]


1. Drowning Not Waving
2. Afterlife
3. Light The Flare
4. Seaside Junk
5. Still Rough On High Seas
6. Windcheater
7. Poor Man’s Monaco
8. Homefront


The album was produced by Jim Siou and ABOVE US THE WAVES. Engineered by Jim Siou. Mixed and mastered by Jay Maas (Defeater, Bane, Capsize, Counterparts, Dead Swans) at Getaway Recording, Boston USA. The album artwork was made by Manthos Stergiou. Pre-order is available here: https://roar.gr/product/us-waves-rough-high-seas-digipack-cd

Guests on the album are, Nick Pavlakis – Drums (ex-Kin Beneath Chorus) on AfterlifeJay Maas – Vocals (ex-Defeater) on Homefront and George Sechlidis – Keyboards (the Dead Ends).

ABOVE US THE WAVES keeping the main characteristics of their riff oriented and melodic modern metal/hardcore intact, have moved to a more raw and organic sound, away from the repetitive and highly processed norms of modern day metalcore.


Vangelis Papavasileiou – Vocals
Vasilis Tsantalis – Guitars
George Aslanis – Guitars
Dinos Kontelas – Bass
Stratos Kannos – Drums


ABOVE US THE WAVES is a five-piece band from Kavala, Greece. ABOVE US THE WAVES‘s sound contains elements of melodic death metal and hardcore focused on heavy riffing and strong melodies. The band was formed in 2009 by Vasilis (Guitars) and after a few member changes, Dinos (Bass), George (Guitars), Vangelis (Vocals) and Stratos (Drums) completed the current lineup.

Following a demo CD (2009), a promo EP (2011) and many live shows, ABOVE US THE WAVES released their debut album “Anchors Aweigh” via the Athens, Greek based label Spreading Dysphoria Industries. The album gained great reviews and was featured on Rock HardMetal Hammer and was also chosen as one of the top Greek metal release of 2013 by Sonik Magazine.

Their energetic live performances have gained them a growing following and many headline shows and tours around Greeceand South East Europe. They have also appeared as support act for well-established bands like UnearthComeback KidCalibanDefeaterRotting Christ and have appeared on festivals like Rock-Off (Istanbul, 2014) w/ MegadethHIMGojiraAmon Amarth and as a headline act on Greek festivals (Defcon, New Long).

2017 has found ABOVE US THE WAVES in the studio working on their sophomore album titled Rough on High Seas, scheduled for a release in June 2018 via Growl Records.


Above Us The Waves Logo

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.