Showcase: Doll Skin – Manic Pixie Dream Girl

Artist: Doll Skin
Title: Manic Pixie Dream Girl
Label: EMP Label Group
Promotion: Rock‘N‘Growl Promotion
Genre: Punk Rock
Country: USA
Format: CD Album/Digital
Release Date: June 16th, 2017

Doll Skin Punk Rock

Manic Pixie Dream Girl is the follow up to Doll Skin’s EMP debut, 2016’s IN YOUR FACE (AGAIN), Produced by Grammy Winning Megadeth bassist David Ellefson, which garnered massive Worldwide press, spawned multiple singles including “Family of Strangers”, “Let’s Be Honest”, and “Furious Fixation”, and saw the band tour much of the year with Otep, Lacey Sturm, Fire From The Gods, Hellyeah, Dead Kennedys, Escape The Fate, September Mourning, Through Fire, and more. Doll Skin capped off the year snagging a spot on Alternative Press’s list of “7 of the Best Rising Bands Under 21”, before settling in to record their new album.


Sydney Dolezal – Vocals
Alex Snowden – Guitars
Nicole Rich – Bass
Meghan Herring – Drums

Doll Skin

Track listing:

  1. Shut Up (You Miss Me)
  2. Daughter
  3. Road Killa
  4. Boy Band
  5. Rubi
  6. Sunflower
  7. Sweet Pea
  8. Baby’s Breath
  9. Persephone
  10. Puncha Nazi
  11. Uninvited

The album is Produced and Mixed by Cage9 frontman Evan Rodaniche (Lacey Sturm, Powerman 5000).

Not to be outdone, the band kicked off 2017 in equally notable fashion with a packed hometown show supporting John 5, and the announcement that the band would join the line-up of the 2017 VANS WARPED TOUR from June 16-25, appearing on the “Hard Rock” Stage alongside Metal and Punk Icons including The Dickies, Municipal Waste, Strung Out, The Adolescents, The Ataris, TSOL, (and their previous Otep tour-mates FIRE FROM THE GODS) and more.

Drummer Meghan Herring says, “We are so crazy excited for this new record to be released!! The sophomore album is an entirely different beast. “In Your Face” was a shot in the dark…it was our very first full length, so we had no idea how well the world would take it.

So writing this second album put a lot of pressure on us. We had to trash so many songs, it was quite the process. But once we got angry and channelled our emotions and album concept, it was smooth sailing. This album is our baby and I am so, so, so, so excited to show everyone, I wish we could release it right now! It’s colourful, loud, and all over the place. It really shows the world who we are.”

Doll Skin 2017


2016 was a big year for Phoenix, AZ Pop-Punk quartet DOLL SKIN. After being touted by the press with their 2015 debut EP as some kind of a millennial second coming of The Runaways, Vocalist Sydney Dolezal, Guitarist Alex Snowden, Bassist Nicole Rich, and Drummer Meghan Herring went on to defy the odds and destroy expectations, showing the World that pure Rock fury has no age requirement.

And even though the band went into their collective career as teenagers, they emerged as a tried and true World class touring Rock act, hitting the road and lighting up stages in 2016 with the likes of OTEP (Twice, the first time as an opener, second as main support), Lacey Sturm, Metal Allegiance, September Mourning, Hellyeah, Escape The Fate, Stitched Up Heart, Fire From the Gods and more, appearing on Shiprocked 2016, even testing their mettle on several runs as a headlining act. And with the release of their debut full-length

2016’s IN YOUR FACE (AGAIN), produced by Megadeth bassist David Ellefson, the band took their rightful place among the Hard Rock elite.

After meeting at the Phoenix SCHOOL OF ROCK in 2013, the fledgling band came to the attention of Ellefson, who took them under his wing, and together they began a sonic assault on the West Coast, playing shows with Social Distortion, Green Jello, DRI, SLUNT, and many more, and set out to work on their Ellefson produced debut studio release.

2015 saw the Worldwide release of Doll Skin’s debut EP In Your Face, through Ellefson’s own imprint EMP LABEL GROUP, distributed via Megaforce Records (also known as the launching pad for legendary big 4 thrash bands Metallica and Anthrax and many more.) and Cargo Records in Europe, and set Doll Skin on a trajectory that saw the band hit the road for the majority of the year and beyond, followed up with their debut full length in 2016, a long-playing version of the original EP, again through EMP, this time partnered with eOne.

Since the release of In Your Face (Again), Doll Skin’s colorful brand of Pop-Punk infused Hard Rock has garnered massive worldwide press and airplay through four singles, “Family of Strangers”, “Wring Me Out”, “Let’s Be Honest”, and “Furious Fixation”, including 2 months of repeat spins on Rodney on the Roq on the World Famous KROQ, grabbing rotation and winning cage matches all over the US, topping playlists in Japan, and finding a home on playlists across Europe and the US, with the album not once, but TWICE, being most added at CMJ Metal Radio. |